Talking in My Head to My Daughters

Image

(apparently my head is in water right now)

 

Yesterday when I woke up, I thought about several things.

  •  I needed to look at a used car because I must have been crazy to think a college girl could bring a minivan to campus.  That’s the equivalent of me riding a push scooter to high school.  Not that I’m worried about my kids being cool, but just think of what people would say about me.
  •  The house is in a state of flux.  Younger in a holding pattern for the next four weeks before departing for college (senior year holy cow), the anticipated arrival of Older, my massive move of all the teaching things now residing in the living room…. Oh look at that, it’s time to fool around on Pinterest. 
  •  There’s so much flitting around in this cranium space that needs to get out, although if I’m pressed to say what it is, I couldn’t possibly catch one elusive coherent thought, except “And what am I going to fix for dinner tonight?  You know I could just make a box of pasta and throw some veggies in there and some cheese but your dad would say that’s not dinner and where’s the real dinner and how about he just makes melted cheese on toast which for some weird reason irks me.  Time to raid the freezer, I guess.  I hope he likes ice cubes for dinner.” 

What? Have you no run-on sentences in your brains?

Today it’s another dreary, sticky, humid day, with lots of clouds.  When the internal temperature is 79 degrees at 9:00 in the morning, that’s when I do my best imitation of a sloth.  But there can be no sloth-like movements today!  Today there needs to be stuff done!  Why?  Because yesterday I gave my best imitation of a sloth.

(if I had a picture of a sleepy sloth, this is where it would be.)

Not really.

Yesterday I actually got myself out of the house twice, can you believe it?  First I looked at a car for Younger.  Well, I went to look at a car that had been listed on the website, but the car dealer laughed and said it was sold last week.  Well, he didn’t laugh as much as chuckle and admit he doesn’t update the site very often.  Then he said to come back Friday. 

No sloth-like activity on Friday, then!

 (insert alert and bright-eyed sloth here)

After that, I got milk at the convenience store.  I can hear your breathless anticipation from here.  And just how convenient is it when the milk is located all the way in the back of the store AND it costs $4.09 for a gallon?  We conveniently empty your wallet, that’s how!

 Then I went out again!  With Younger!  To the recycling center!  The fun just never lets up here at Casa Sloth.

But today I need to turn those blueberries I bought at the Farmer’s Market into something, probably muffins, so I will ignore my sore throat; I will ignore the urge to sloth; I will be productive.  Right after my second cup of tea.  And a visit (in my head) to that lovely place up there.  It looks nice.

Procrastination, baby! 

 Oh, and yesterday your dad wasn’t even home for dinner, so he missed out on my spectacular spaghetti and meatballs.  And a showing of Sleepless in Seattle.  Don’t tell him, but I’ve always loved Tom Hanks. 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Talking in My Head to My Daughters

  1. Ah, the cheesy toast. One step up from two spoons and the jars of PB and jelly.

    I think milk is actually cheaper in trader joe’s than in any other store, for some reason…try there?

    I have many pictures of sloths for you. Tumblr is full of them. I can even give you shaved sloths in pajamas if you would like.

    My dinner last night was an entire bulb of garlic sauteed in olive oil and red wine, followed by some pasta. You win!

Leave a Reply

